City Office: 254-826-5351

Citation Dismissal

Can My Citation Be Dismissed?


Several types of traffic violations can be “dismissed for compliance.”  These citations are listed below, along with the requirements for obtaining such a dismissal. Please be sure to include your citation number on any documents submitted to the Court.

 

No Insurance or Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

If you had insurance or financial responsibility in effect at the time of the citation, you may bring or mail to the Court one of the following documents as proof:

  • Motor vehicle insurance card
  • Motor vehicle insurance policy documents
  • Motor vehicle insurance binder
  • Surety bond certificate issued under Texas Transportation Code § 601.121
  • Comptroller’s certificate of deposit issued under Texas Transportation Code § 601.122
  • Judge’s certificate of deposit issued under Texas Transportation Code § 601.123
  • Self-insurance certificate issued under Texas Transportation Code § 601.124

The Court will verify with the insurance provider or other authority the authenticity of the document.  If the document demonstrates proof of financial responsibility in place at the time the citation was issued, the citation will be dismissed.

 

Expired Motor Vehicle Inspection

An expired motor vehicle inspection citation can be dismissed if:

  • The inspection was not expired for more than 60 days at the time of the citation;
  • You have the vehicle inspected within 20 working days of the citation and the vehicle passes inspection; AND
  • You present proof of inspection to the Court; the Court will assess a $20 administrative fee, per state law, and dismiss the citation.  You may present or mail the $20 fee and proof of inspection to the Court.

 

Expired Motor Vehicle Registration

An expired motor vehicle registration citation can be dismissed if:

  • You register the vehicle within 20 working days of the citation;
  • You pay any late registration fees assessed by the county assessor-collector at the time of registration; AND
  • You present proof of registration and late registration fee payment to the Court; the Court may assess a $20 administrative fee, per state law, and dismiss the citation.  You may present or mail the $20 fee and proof of registration to the Court.

 

Expired Driver’s License

If you renew your driver’s license within 20 working days of the citation and present proof of renewal to the Court, the Court may assess a $20 administrative fee, per state law, and dismiss the citation.  You may present or mail the $20 fee and a copy of your license renewal to the Court.

 

No Driver’s License

If you had a driver’s license that was valid at the time of the citation and appropriate for the vehicle you were operating at the time of the citation, and you present your driver’s license to the Court, the Court may assess a $10 administrative fee, per state law, and dismiss the citation.  Please note that the license you present must show on its face that it was valid at the time of the citation; replacements for lost driver’s licenses issued after the date of the citation will not be accepted.

 

Equipment

If you correct the equipment violation before your initial appearance date (the 14th day after the date of the citation) and present proof of correction to the Court, the Court may assess an administrative fee of $20, per state law, and dismiss the citation.

 

Traffic Violations

State law allows drivers licensed in Texas the opportunity to take a Driving Safety Course
(also known as “defensive driving” or DSC) once a year to dismiss certain types of traffic citations. Follow the link to see if you qualify and if so how to register for a class.


All Other Violations

There is no administrative dismissal process for most of the violations filed in Municipal Court.  You may schedule an appointment with the Prosecutor’s Office at (940) 761-7675 at your option to discuss your case, but you have the right to remain silent and do not have to speak with the Prosecutor.  You have the right to schedule your case for trial before a judge or a jury.  If the judge or the jury finds that you are not guilty of the offense, you will be acquitted and will not be required to pay the citation.  If the judge or the jury finds that you are guilty of the offense, you will be required to pay a fine set by the judge or jury that heard your case.